Was The Curves Smart Program a Smart Choice?

Posted on November 25, 2008. Filed under: Customer Insight Portal | Tags: , , , |

Susan Collinge of Customer Crossroads blogged about on how Curves created a tailored customer experience for women. But then she noted a distressing development.  Many of the Curves members started venting on her blog about the new Curves Smart system and how frustrated they were by the lack of results. It raised a red flag for Susan that many women were struggling and they were using her blog to vent their frustrations without an official way to voice their complaints.

Using Leximancer’s The Customer Insight Portal, we analyzed blogs mentioning Curves Smart, 2008 Yelp reviews in select markets, comments from Customer Crossroads, as well as analyzing the Curves Forum thread dedicated to Curves equipment to find if struggles with the Smart system were a widespread problem.

Above is a high-level conceptual map generated by The Customer Insight Portal showing the frequent themes (the big circles) and concepts (the small dots) communicated by women from the sources mentioned above.  Because the concept map interactively allows us to interrogate the common themes across all these sources, we were able to quickly identify some very specific customer intelligence. As is visible above, the theme Curves Smart doesn’t overlap any themes or concepts related to negative words, like frustrated or bad. This is telling, and provided an initial visual indicator of what we were to find by clicking through the map.

In fact, clicking on the concept Smart shows that the word is most closely correlated to comments related to using the program and its efficacy. And since The Customer Insight Portal lets you see verbatim responses, a user can hone in on exact phrases used to describe Smart. Verbatims show the positive response to the Smart program.

•    “Oh man, the more I hear about people trying and LOVING the smart machines, the more anxious I get to get them at my own club. I have no clue if/when that will be, but I do know I will be doing it, without any question”.
•    “I love the smart machines, too. It’s always a competition with myself to burn more calories than last time, or to increase my PI.”
•    “I am having trouble on the smart machines achieving my green lights. The top one rarely comes on, and the lower one flashes or turns yellow.”
•    “I feel like the SM really push me too. I watch some of the people who arent using the smart equipment and they just don’t look like they’re doing much work at all.”
•    “We have the curves smart at our location and I love it. we’ve only been doing it for three days, but I truly am exhausted when I finish.”

Further exploring the concept map, other unknown insights were identified from the wide range of customer comments.  For example,  we were able to explore an interesting correlation between staff and training.
It seems that customers perceive that Curves doesn’t appear to have a consistent training program, and that not only are members not trained properly but staff members as well. In addition, there seems to be a significant lag between training and customer service.

Verbatims include:
•    “Our club just received ours a week ago but the staff is waiting for training. Our boss took only one staff member to training with her last week and the rest of us are supposed to be trained this week.”
•    “I must have not made my post clear; I’m not a owner nor a manager; I’m a staff member and I did not get to attend training. I was wondering if there is any way that staff members can attend training on their own?”
•    “Now I just have to wait for the machines to get outfitted (probably in about a week or so), the staff to get trained and then the training for the Curves attendees begins. I’m #6 on the list.”
•    “I went to the training, I believe what they said was 2 people per club were allowed to attend, but it was mainly to be owner and manager. they have a small training room and quite a few clubs at each training date to fit in.”
•    “But it should be part of the training for the smart machines that they make sure ALL members, local or travelers, understand how things work, even if they won’t be using all of the machines. it would certainly throw me off to not do a heart rate check.”

It appeared that Curves customers flocked to Customer Crossroads because Curves’ main failure was not giving its customers a way to voice their concerns. Yet our more thorough online analysis shows that many customers are embracing Curves Smart, and their frustration often focuses more on the lack of training or the lag time between receiving equipment and training.

Our take-away and the reason we continue to be happily surprised by the value of The Customer Insight Portal, is that preconceived ideas of customers’ experience prove again and again to be incorrect in significant ways.  And significant surprises create significant opportunities!

If you have a question related to your or another company’s customer experience that you think The Customer Insight Portal can help you answer, e-mail Chris Westfall (chris.westfall at leximancer.com) with recommendations for a future blog post.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “Was The Curves Smart Program a Smart Choice?”

RSS Feed for Customer Insight Blog Comments RSS Feed

Hi there – I just found this article. Just for future reference, my name is Susan Abbott, not Susan Collinge.
I’ve put a reference to this article on my blog.

I do the curves smart and I love it. I just signed up and compared to the old curves it is a real challenge.

Leximancer…I recently asked for a trial copy for their 3.5 version.

After exchanging 10 emails with 2 of their company representatives, they declined to provide me with a free trial.

Instead they said, “…that we can negotiate for a paid desktop trial.”

Although they advertise a free trial at their site, they actually trying to make people pay for a tial version.

How crappy and scummy is that?

Stay away from them. The software costs 1500$ AUD, and they expect you to pay without testing it.

Unless of course you pay for a trial version first.

Crooks!..Stay away from them!

[…] Was The Curves Smart Program a Smart Choice? « Customer InsightUsing Leximancer’s The Customer Insight Portal, we analyzed blogs mentioning Curves Smart, 2008 Yelp reviews in select markets, comments from Customer Crossroads, as well as analyzing the Curves Forum thread dedicated to Curves equipment to find if struggles with the Smart system were a widespread problem. […]

Just in case feedback is helpful:
Great information, but what is all the ‘mba-speak’ all about?
“Because the concept map interactively allows us to interrogate the common themes across all these sources, we were able to quickly identify some very specific customer intelligence”
for goodness sake, maybe I’m just ‘getting too old for this’, but the buzzwords do not add to my experience with your blog or my understanding. Perhaps they are there to make it all sound so very important. Next we’ll be finding ways to combine ‘on the ground’ with ‘customer-intell’, or just calling it ‘cintell’. Achhh…

I just quit Curves due to the abortion rights issues. I do not think the Heavins have any right to use their money to inject their religion and opinions on anyone. They aren’t physicians; they are not social scientists, and they have a one track mind about it all. I don’t like it either, but I am mostly upset that they and others like Rick Perry, Rick Santorum and even Rush (a gross fat slob) think they can talk the way the do about women’s rights, which have been won over at least 100 yrs. They leave women out of the discourse just like they did when Sandra Fluke tried to testify. The republican white men took that over and ruined any chance of anything useful coming out of it. Anyway, I don’t think the Curves workout is really all that good and I did it for almost a year. The smart program isn’t what they say it is. I don’t think Curves want people to lose very much weight or they will quit. I saw many women who had years and years working out there, and they were still very overweight. Not impressed.

[…] Was The Curves Smart Program a Smart Choice? « Customer …Nov 25, 2008 … Many of the Curves members started venting on her blog about the new Curves Smart system and how frustrated they were by the lack of … […]

Search engine optimization, link management services is one of the hottest area of online traffic
generation today. Updating your website frequently
helps build your visitor retention, page ranking, and revenue potential.
Since search engines take hundreds and hundreds of factors into consideration in generating search results return, keyword
density is no longer the primary way to maximize SEO for a web site.

I’ve learn a few just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.
I surprise how a lot attempt you set to create the sort of fantastic informative
site.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

